ARC Review – Jack’s on Fire

Hello, everyone! Today I am reviewing Jack’s on Fire by Owen Lach, which was just published last week. As the cover suggests, it is a cute YA romance. So, if that’s your cup of tea, be sure to check it out!

What if you were a queer teenage musician outed by his vengeful ex-boyfriend and not a fairy tale princess trapped in a castle tower? What if your wicked stepmother was your ordinary, thoughtless, uncaring mother? What if your fairy godmother was your older brother? What if your Prince Charming was captain of the JV soccer team? Maybe you’d be forgiven for not realizing you were living in a sort of fairy tale.

Faced with the impossible choice of staying home to risk being sent away to Father Sullivan’s special school for exceptionally happy boys or moving in with his older brother in California, 16-yr-old Jack Martin leaves behind everything he knows in Minneapolis to go to San Francisco. He finds himself at a new school with new friends and the freedom to be himself. Then sparks fly when Jack meets Damon, his Geometry tutor (and captain of the JV soccer team.) But Jack wonders if Damon feels those sparks, too. And does their budding friendship have a chance to become something more?

Jack’s On Fire is a heartwarming, modern, queer fairy tale about friendship, chosen family, and young, queer love perfect for fans of Heartstopper. Sure, there aren’t any fairies or wands. But what else would you call it when everything starts magically going your way?

***Thank you to Jetspace Studio for providing a copy of the book via NetGalley. My review contains my honest thoughts about my reading experience.***

This book is exactly what the cover and synopsis suggest: a delightful queer fairy tale focused on found family and the healing power of acceptance. Jack was such a great protagonist, and I appreciated the realistic portrayal of anxiety his character represented. He experienced so much growth, both in managing his anxiety and learning to trust and be open with others. I felt so much joy watching him realize that people could not only accept him but also love him for who he was.

His relationships with others, especially his brother and Damon, were the highlights of the story for me. He had a fun, easygoing relationship with his brother despite the circumstances of the two of them being thrown together, and I just loved the honesty and mutual support they shared. The friendship, and eventual romance, between Jack and Damon was sickeningly sweet and an absolute delight to read. The slow burn friends to lovers romance created a will-they-or-won’t-they tension that was fun, even though it was fairly obvious they’d end up together. This was a fairy tale after all.

On that note, this was largely a low angst story about the queer kid getting everything he had ever wanted after being moved from a hostile environment to a supportive one. There were moments of despair, but the general vibe of the book was very positive and devoted to giving Jack the perfect healing experience. That being said, sometimes I wished things wouldn’t have gone quite so easily for him. What can I say? I love drama. lol. However, I did enjoy the book for the positive vibes, and seeing Jack live the dream so many queer kids have of unconditional love and acceptance was a cathartic experience.

Now I’m going to be a bit picky. There was one character who seemed to exist only to create the conditions needed for the final climax. Their arc felt removed from the rest of the narrative, and I found the eventual outcome obvious despite also feeling a bit blindsided by it because it seemed like it should have been part of another story. Despite this pickiness about a relatively small detail, I loved this book and think it would be perfect for fans of Heartstopper because of its focus on queer joy and an absolutely adorable friends to lovers high school romance. Therefore, I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars!

Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Anticipated Reads for Oct-Dec 2022

Hello everyone! It’s been way too long since I’ve participated in Top 5 Tuesday. What can I say? I’ve been super lazy when it comes to blog posts that aren’t reviews or wrap-ups. I’m still feeling lazy, but this is a pretty easy topic. So, I thought I’d hop on board for at least this week with my top 5 anticipated reads for this last quarter of 2022. Strangely enough, the first two actually released TODAY, and I’ll be making a trip to B&N to snatch them up. 🙂 Top 5 Tuesday was created by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm, and is now being hosted at Meeghan Reads!

Read More »

Monthly Wrap-Up: September 2022

As I’m sitting here thinking back about this month, nothing special really stands out. I honestly can’t believe it has already been a month since the last wrap-up post. It seems like it was just the other day. I’m excited the weather is finally getting at least a little cooler. Although, I’m sure we will still have several last gasps of summer before fall really arrives. I do live in Louisiana after all. I don’t really have anything else to say about September. So, let’s just move on to my updates about reading. lol.

Read More »

Monthly TBR – October 2022

Hello, everyone! I don’t have very many ARCs this month. So, I’m going to try to catch up on the ones where I missed the release date and then get a head start on some of November’s releases. I’ll also be doing a bit of mood reading beyond these selections. I just got a ton of new audiobooks from the Audible sale last month, and I’m dying to get to some of them. I’ve also got some library books that aren’t listed here. So, stay tuned to see what they are when I get to them over the next couple weeks. 🙂 I hope you all have a great month and are enjoying the start of spooky season!

Read More »

Books I’ve Read This Year with Bi+ Male Characters

Last year for Bi Visibility Day, I created my first list of favorite books with bi+ male characters (see here). It was comprised mostly of books I’d read in the preceding year. I’ve decided to make this a yearly thing… because why not? Without further ado, here are some of the books I’ve read since last September that included bi+ male rep within the main cast of characters (with synopses from Goodreads).

Read More »