Spooky Season Spotlight – Recent TBR Additions

Hello, everyone! Happy Halloween!! In honor of today’s festivities, I’d like to shine a spotlight on some books I’ve recently added to my TBR that I think would be perfect for spooky season (or any other time of the year too). I probably won’t get around to reading them until next spooky season with the rate my TBR constantly grows, but they looked great and seemed like perfect Halloween reads. So, I wanted to share!

How to Bite Your Neighbor and Win a Wager by D.N. Bryn

Author: D. N. Bryn

Length: 396 Pages

Date Published: October 6, 2022

Amazon | Goodreads | Author Website

“I WANT YOU TO BITE ME.”

Vincent Barnes has suffered four years as a vampire, and they’ve been the most miserable years of his pathetic life. Too poor for black market blood, he feeds from sleeping humans to survive. He tries to never intrude on the same prey twice, but after a single delicious taste of a long-lost childhood neighbor, he can’t help returning for seconds.

Wesley Garcia has been waking up with fang marks. Lucky for him, he needs a vampire—to use as bait. He’s certain Vitalis-Barron Pharmaceutical killed his mother, but to gain access to their covert research labs, he has to bring them a bloodsucker for their experiments.

Step one, a dramatic offer: Stay, and you can bite me.

Vincent leaps at the chance to gobble Wesley up.

Wes’s plan is perfect. He’ll befriend the vampire, then trick him into coming to the lab. No fighting, no fuss. But Vincent is more than Wesley has bargained for: sweet and shy, with intoxicating fangs that awaken new desires in Wes. As the two bond, Vincent believes he might have finally found someone worth putting his trust in… and Wes fears neither of them will survive the betrayal he has planned.

How to Bite Your Neighbor and Win and Wager is a slow-burn paranormal mm romance full of laughter, angst, and thirsty pining. It is perfect for fans of fangs and scientific interpretations of vampirism, with a medium spice level that heats up further in the free bonus content. Content includes bite kink, bleeding (non-kinky), medical experimentation (not experienced by the point of view characters), one particular lesbian BFF who should be reported to HR, and the use of “bodice-ripping” as a verb.

The Raven Key by Harper L. Carnes

Author: Harper L. Carnes

Length: 379 Pages

Date Published: September 13, 2022

Amazon | Goodreads | Author Website

WE ALL HAVE OUR DEMONS.
HIS ARE LOOKING FOR A WAY OUT.

Possessed. Dangerous. Monster. Seth Cunningham is still haunted by the words his mother yelled after trying to drown him in the pond behind their house when he was six years old.
Now, almost eighteen, Seth is trying to live as normal a life as he can alongside his horrific nightmares and his sense of loss. He finds some comfort when a romance sparks with Gabriel. A compassionate college student that isn’t scared off so easily by Seth’s past, or his pain.
But something inside Seth is awakening. It speaks to him in a voice only he and the ravens that serve it can hear. A presence that carries with it a terrible hunger that becomes harder and harder to resist.
To save himself and those he loves, Seth will have to search out the truth of who he was meant to be, and the dark past his mother ran from.

Of Feathers and Thorns by Kit Vincent

Author: Kit Vincent

Length: 312 Pages

Date Published: October 25, 2022

Amazon | Goodreads | Author Website

A stunning queer fantasy perfect for fans of Carry On and A Marvelous Light.

After manifesting thorned magic and nearly destroying his hometown, Kieren Belltower is summoned to join the Magic Service—an institution in charge of magical affairs—and start an apprenticeship with a high-ranking magician. But instead of the mage assigned to teach him, Kieren is greeted by his haughty and annoyingly handsome senior apprentice Esten, who clearly has more important things to do than chaperone some newbie. Their teacher has disappeared on a secret assignment, leaving Esten no instructions other than a warning not to trust a soul. But as Kieren’s unruly magic proves too dangerous to leave unattended, Esten has no choice but to involve him in the matter.

Together they retrace their teacher’s last known mission—an investigation into the illegal use of magic and its connection to the devastating phenomenon called sludge, which has plagued the country for weeks. But as Kieren and Esten grow closer, they uncover a plot that thrusts their lives into danger and threatens to shatter everything they know about magic and the world they were born into.

One thought on “Spooky Season Spotlight – Recent TBR Additions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s